The Sunshine/I am Part of the WordPress Family Award

Thanks to ckckred, I have been nominated for the above awards. I’m still not sure how these things work, like if I need an official decree or something, but from what I’m given here, I might as well go ahead and answer the questions.

1. What was your first favorite movie?

Well, the first favorite movie that I’ve seen that still retains it’s magic from childhood would be Babe. Some people brush it off as a kid’s film just because of talking animals, but this is still enchanting, even to a college guy like me.

2. Who do you think is the best actor working today?

Nathan Fillion. Just seeing him act always puts a smile on my face.

3. What is your favorite comedy?

I’m not really a fan of the mean-spirited things that pass as “comedy” today. The classic silent films work better than what we have today; after all, actions speak louder than words. If I have to choose just one, which I must according to the question, it would be The General. That one, I was lucky to see on actual film with a real organist. There’s something so magical about seeing it as it really was.

4. Why did you start a blog?

Originally, I did it to promote my Vimeo page (go ahead, check it out). I needed some more exposure. I realized I needed to talk about more than just myself so after some editorials, I started doing movie reviews. After all, what’s the point of being a film student if you don’t talk about film? Now, some of these reviews that I do will seem really out of left field, mainly movies for preschoolers. I mentioned in my Rain Man review that I had an autistic brother and the movies that he’s allowed to watch are targeted towards really young kids. I figure I might as well review these; after all, professional critics do it. Of course I’ll review the classics, but those will come over time.

5. What is your most anticipated movie for the rest of the year?

Theatrically, it’d be Saving Mr. Banks. But since I haven’t been to the theater as often as other people have, I go by what I can legally get my hands on. I’m waiting for the DVD release of Room 237 next month. It will be paired with my review of The Shining as soon as I see the former.

6. What’s your favorite movie of 2013 so far?

Theatrically, it’d be The General. But out of all the movies I’ve seen this year, it’d be One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

7. What is a film you can see any day and never tire of?

Pink Floyd’s The Wall. So much is there that cannot be seen in just one viewing. It’s not for everyone but it’s a remarkable piece of art that seems forgotten.

8. What movie disappointed you the most?

This year, it would be The Treasure of the Sierra Madre. I will need to rewatch it mostly because I was distracted. In my whole life, it’d be Shrek, the first one. Sure, fractured fairy tales have been done before but now it seems that if you’re doing an animated fairy tale, it has to be like Shrek or else it fails like Hoodwinked.

9. What film do you find overrated?

Gone with the Wind. I made the mistake of sitting through it all in one sitting, even intermission. It’s well-crafted but did it have to be so long?

10. What film do you find underrated?

Watership Down. It’s a pity that it’s only known for the violence. But hey, it’s worth a look.

If anyone knows what I need to do next, post a comment and I’ll work on it. Meanwhile, take a look around as I’m gearing up for more reviews, more videos, and another year at school.

2 thoughts on “The Sunshine/I am Part of the WordPress Family Award

What do you think?

