Registration Day: Biannual Nightmare

Once a semester, each grade has a separate day to register for classes for next semester. Time is of the essence and each minute that goes by is one minute that may result in a class filling up and end up far down on the waitlist. Needless to say, it’s a stressful experience for me.

In the past, I would register online. Each second before the 7:00 start is another frantic click on the refresh button. When 7:00 hits, the Internet connection slows down to the point where it becomes impossible to work with. Everybody tries to log in and register at the same time because, again, time is of the essence. There were times that I would be in the middle of registering for a class and the browser would freeze, making me very anxious and nervous. If the class I needed would fill up, it would be a scramble to find a substitute class that would fit my schedule. After all was said and done, my nerves were wracked for the whole day and I would complain that things didn’t work out.

This time, I decided to not do it online. I sat outside the registrar’s office Black Friday style (except indoors) at 4:00 am today. I heard positive things about having it done in person. Figured I had nothing to lose, I waited. When the time came, there was a shortage of faculty but that was fixed. When all was said and done, I was able to get what I wanted without any problems. After this, I am NEVER registering online again.

I will admit that I do not like it when things that are out of my control do not go my way. When things like that happen, I do get stressed and start to freak out. I try to explain my problem as best as I can after it’s over but I get worked up again. I make the situation larger than it should be and I let it cloud my thoughts for the rest of the day. Yes, I know it’s a bad thing to let happen but I let it get the better of me. I’m working on it, bit by bit.

What do you think?

