Movie Review: Moon

Right now, the moon is full and gladly lights my long way home. Could I ever imagine myself on the moon? Sure, but I wouldn’t want to be isolated. I’d drive myself crazy without other human interaction. But if it comes in the form of a clone, then I’d start to worry.

Towards the end of a three-year contract, one man literally finds himself and tries to get home.

As I watched, I looked for 2001 references. Yes, you have the AI unit that tries to mimic human emotion (this time with a visual aid), a standard reference to the Kubrick film. Here, the octagonal chambers are used as well as the telecom/Skype-esque sessions. Also, the shaking of Sam Bell’s body as he is sent back to Earth is a nice nod to the stargate sequence.

The train just passed by outside and I realize that it did not interrupt my viewing experience, a rarity where I’m from.

Anyways, I would say the music was not intrusive or obnoxious like I experienced with Gravity. I found it to be relaxing and fit the movie rather well. The moon is not a place for loud noises or bombastic symphonies. Rather, a soft piano piece makes itself at home in the lunar base.

I’m not sure how I would react if I knew that I was a clone with numerous successors ahead of me. On one hand, I know the work would still get done and that everything would be fine. On the other, I’d hate to feel like I’m not original and that all my experiences were just lies. Learning that the girl I love has died many years ago and that things I thought I knew were not the same would be devastating; another identity crisis.

I enjoyed the title sequence, as simplistic as it is. Instead of having the text be superimposed over the film, making it a two-layer image, it is integrated with the environment. Granted, this is not the first time it has been done but it is amazing to see the credit experience the same stability or instability according to the location. You can watch it here.

It’s interesting to note that this and Gravity have a few things in common. For starters, both have at least a 90 minute runtime. There are a minimal amount of characters. Earth is the last location for each movie, either landing there or arriving there. With Gravity in terms of protagonist, I could tell it was Sandra Bullock isolated in space. Here, I had no history with the actor portraying the protagonist and thus could establish a relationship with the character without knowing any prior history. Whether or not that’s a good thing, I’m not sure.

I would like to get this for my own collection as a companion piece to 2001. Aside from one moment with “Walking on Sunshine”, it’s not a real “laugh out loud” kind of film. It’s definitely worth a watch.

8/10

10 thoughts on “Movie Review: Moon

What do you think?

