Thanksgiving: What of It?

It’s that time of year again; the one time where you get several days off just to eat and wait outside in the cold for several hours in the early morning. I’m more of an eating guy but it does nothing to me. But when it comes time to the whole “family gathering” thing, I rather stay quiet and eat my food.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not thankful for whatever happened during the year. It’s just that it seems more like lip service that delays the tryptophan-induced dinner. On top of that, I rather keep my gratitude to myself. By doing that, it comes off as cold and emotionless. So, I have to think and pick something that most people have heard of just so that I’m not a killjoy (I’m fine, really). Whatever it takes to save face.

After the meal, I actually try to keep myself awake and work against the turkey-induced stupor. Mostly, I read encyclopedias right in the middle of the football game on TV, mainly because it’s white noise to me. Do I learn anything? Maybe, but not much more than what I knew before other than comparing that info to what I know today. Or, I vanish to watch movies in my room and leave everyone else to their own activities. One year, I even picked up the game “Myst” and tried to work through that in the stupor (success). Again, not something I should be doing as it’s supposed to be a time of togetherness but I already get that by living at home and, to be frank, it’s just another family meal, albeit with fancy trimmings.

Honestly, Thanksgiving (or “THXgiving” like I call it, referencing the logo) is not that big of a holiday for me. As long as I get my stuffing and pumpkin pie with whipped cream, I’m happy.

What do you think?

