Movie Review: It’s a Wonderful Life

 

I’ll admit that I saw this movie for the first time in my life this past July. All I had been exposed to beforehand were the references to the last part of the film. Imagine my surprise when I realized there was more story than what I figured.

A man who has given up his dreams wishes he was never born and sees what happens.

I was able to connect with George Bailey. Poor guy. He had worked so hard and had to sacrifice so much of what he wanted for himself that it brought him to a tipping point. It happens to everyone to some extent. As to getting a second chance, I don’t think parallel dimensional traveling is a thing (yet).

It’s a holiday staple that hearkens back to a simpler era, at least in my perspective. While I may not have been around in the 1940’s and there were other things going on like WWII, it seems like the town has heart and will help others when the time comes.

From what I can remember, the first homage to this I can remember was the Rolie Polie Olie episode “It’s a Roundiful Life”. For a children’s show, the George Bailey stand-in didn’t wish to die but rather ran away. This somehow caused the house to lose energy and prompted the family to move, I think. It’s been a long while since I’ve seen the show.

The story itself is complete and there is no need for a sequel. Period.

It’s a well-made film that reminds us about how much we as individual people are needed in each other’s lives.

Attaboy, Clarence. Attaboy, Capra.

8/10

1001 MYMSBYD selection

AFI Top 100 (1997): #11

AFI Top 100 (2007): #20

400 Nominations for AFI Top 100 for both years

Winner of a Technical Achievement Award for the develeopment of a new method od simulating falling snow on motion picture sets

13 thoughts on “Movie Review: It’s a Wonderful Life

What do you think?

