Headless Chicken Mode

It’s that time of year again: the week before finals. The atmosphere is tense as projects need to be finished and good sleep is gone. Caffiene and hot meals are good friends. Any time to relax is treasured. At the same time, there’s an odd time flux in terms of perception. While some projects seem like a lot of time should be spent on them, it takes much less time to do them than when I started. It’s one of the most stressful times of the year for me.

I try to distance myself away from the stress while at school but at the same time it means I spend time with as little people as possible. The lack of personal interaction equates to isolation and loneliness. Too much isolation is never a good thing. Isolation leads to boredom one way or another.

The routine becomes mundane and as that happens, the days flow by with little variation. The only down time is in dreams. Even then, I spend an hour tossing and turning trying to not think. Each minute spent thinking is a minute lost to sleep. Then, I end up awake at two or three in the morning for a can of ginger ale, only to wake up at 5:15 and start the routine again.

I can’t wait to be on break within the next week. THXgiving break did not count as I knew work had to be done eventually. Just a few more days…

What do you think?

