My 2014 Oscar Picks

 

I will admit that I haven’t seen about 90% of the films nominated like pretty much everyone else online. Unless I’ve seen the film, I won’t give a reason why I chose something. It will be guessing for the most part. It’s terrible, especially for someone majoring in film, but money’s tight and I don’t have the same kind of luxury as everyone else does. More than likely I’ll review the winners and nominees after all is said and done when the DVD is available.

Best Picture: 12 Years A Slave

Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock, Gravity. She definitely carried the movie on her shoulders. Much like after the shipwreck in Life of Pi, one person has to act believable on their own in an isolated space. Sandra clearly demonstrated that.

Best Actor – Supporting: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Best Actress – Supporting: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave

Best Animated Feature Film: The Wind Rises. That or Frozen for the American pick.

Cinematography: Gravity. The long take at the beginning is well executed. With all of the planning that had to happen to make it work, I will be disappointed if it doesn’t win.

Costume Design: The Great Gatsby

Directing: Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave

Documentary Feature: The Square

Documentary Short Subject: Facing Fear

Film Editing: Gravity. While it is an intense film, it is not edited intensely. It is a nice departure from what I call “blender films” where the footage is edited together like it was put through a blender (even though it’s pretty much all digital these days). I can’t stand those kind of films unless the editing is unified like it is here.

Foreign Language Film: The Hunt

Makeup and Hair Styling: Dallas Buyers Club

Music – Original Score: Saving Mr. Banks

Music – Original Song: “Let it Go”, Frozen. A dynamic piece of work that shows that Disney is getting their game back from the 1990’s slate of films. That, and the scene with the song is grand in literal scale.

Production Design: 12 Years A Slave

Short Film – Animated: Feral. Similar to my Best Animated Feature pick, I think Get a Horse! will probably win because of the history behind it and it’s the American pick. That is a good short but Feral looks much more impressive just from the trailer alone.

Short Film – Live Action: Helium

Sound Editing: Gravity. Even though the theater I saw it in was louder than normal, it was still extraordinary to listen to.

Sound Mixing: Gravity. Same as above.

Visual Effects: Gravity. It goes hand in hand with the Cinematography.

Writing – Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years A Slave

Writing – Original Screenplay: Her

Like my confidence in March Madness picks, some of them are a long shot as well as a safe bet. What are your picks?

 

One thought on “My 2014 Oscar Picks

  1. I agree with many of your choices. Others less so.

    For what it’s worth, I have seen all of the major category nominees. So I base these predictions in part on my own preferences but mostly on how I perceive the critical reaction and publicity momentum:

    Picture: 12 Years a Slave
    Director: Steve McQueen
    Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years a Slave
    Original Screenplay: Her
    Actor: McConaughey
    Supporting Actor: Leto
    Actress: Blanchett
    Supporting Actress: Lawrence
    Cinematography: Gravity
    Score: Gravity
    Editing: Gravity
    Sound Editing: Gravity
    Sound Mixing: Gravity
    Visual Effects: Gravity

    Right now I think the ones most in question are the screenplay and editing awards. Acting, director, picture, cinematography, score, sound, and visual effects, I think, have very clear front runners. A lot can change in a month, of course, like it did last year when Zero Dark Thirty went from a guaranteed winner to having no chance, but if the awards were given today I don’t think those categories would surprise. At all. At the moment, the actual ceremony seems like it’ll have much less suspense than the nominations did.

What do you think?

