Bad Movie Choices for Valentine’s Day

I may not have had much experience with the combination of movies, dates, and love but I feel like I know some of the films I’ve seen are off-limits for a date night, especially Valentine’s Day. These are some of my picks of films I’ve seen that you should probably avoid but Your Mileage May Vary.

Salo, or the 120 Days of Sodom. I was really uncomfortable watching this alone. I don’t know if anybody can rationally say they like this movie (as in THE #1 film of all-time). I’m still coming to terms with how the movie was created and filmed. That doesn’t mean I don’t respect the effort. This is one of those films that would definitely cause a rift in a relationship. Discussion, yes. Questions, of course. Respect? That’s iffy.

Eyes Wide Shut. It’s not as strong as Salo but the uneasiness factor is still large, namely the masked ball sequence and what follows. I do like the music but I’d be uncomfortable watching this with a partner unless they were a fan of Kubrick.

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me. First of all, if I were to show this to someone, they would have needed to finish watching the show as there are spoilers. Secondly, even if a partner were a Lynchian like me, there’s the whole bedroom scene with BOB. I still watch this movie in broad daylight and the sound mostly down.

The Birth of a Nation. If a partner was a cinephile or a Civil War/history buff, then maybe. Other than that, it’s a bit long as well as the second half’s message that’s off-putting.

Flaming Creatures. It helps that this is a hard-to-find movie. Even then, would I sit through this again or with someone by my side? Nope.

3 thoughts on “Bad Movie Choices for Valentine’s Day

What do you think?

