Awesome Night, Nervous Morning

Before I talk about yesterday, I need to explain about this morning. It was that time of year again: registration day. I got everything I wanted by waiting Black Friday style outside the registrar’s office. I shouldn’t be worried at all now yet the anxiety still lingers.

Sleep was off and on; never a good sign. I gave up trying to sleep and have been awake since 4:45. I sat staring at the carpet pattern for a few hours, seeing different shapes and characters emerge. Nearly the entire time I was the lone sentinel, awake in a hallway of dreamers.

I was fine until 6:20ish. Dread and anxiety set in. I knew I shouldn’t be worried, being the first guy in line. Yet I felt my body tense up, heart pounding (no thanks to the Dr. Pepper) and then I did something I rarely do: rock back and forth. Just minimal, but it soon got to the point where I had to get up and pace. I normally pace in my acting class but as an exercise; I actually spend a good twenty minutes before class pacing as an outlet, flapping my hands (another thing I don’t normally do) but passing it off as a warmup. Point being, I was not myself. Even now, I’m still tense. I’ve had to find some songs to calm me down, mainly this one.

Yesterday was actually really amazing. Our school had Jim Miller, co-director of season four of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, give an evening lecture. Before then, I attended a pizza lunch and storyboard session with him and several fellow animators. Jim displayed some storyboards from Ed, Edd n Eddy, Kid vs Kat, and MLP:FiM. We even had an alumnus give a practice pitch for a show he’s working on (see his website and work here) and a critique from Jim.

Later, as part of my apprenticeship for the semester, I taped the lecture that will be not only edited by me but also air on our local PBS station. If it ever gets uploaded (not for several months since it’ll need captions for online viewing), I’ll link it.

Back to this morning. I got a few photos of both of us as well as an autograph. I even was thanked for taping the lecture last night and given advice on editing. Moments like that are few and far between and when something like that happens, you have to take advantage of it. I did.

The next few days should be less stressful. Just need to breathe and be myself for a few hours. Still, WOW.

What do you think?

