Coming this Month: October 2014

Fall is finally here! Time to break out the flannel shirts and my favorite hat. Mornings with pumpkin loaf and cream cheese, evenings with cider and hot chocolate, chili season. Time to enjoy the season but prepare for the winter ahead.

In terms of films, I know that there will be a review for Equilibrium and The Conjuring for Film Club. I don’t think there will be as many Halloween film reviews like last year. If there is something I’ve seen that’s on queue for the 1001 Movies Club, then it’ll appear.

As I mentioned in the Tarzan review, Chris Buck will give a lecture for our school in a week. Saturday is a screening of Frozen (probably a sing-along) and a Q&A; Sunday is more of a lecture geared towards those interested in animation. Of course, I’ll go to both and plan on getting my copy of Frozen autographed. These moments don’t happen too often. On a similar note, Neil DeGrasse Tyson will lecture at another local university. Tickets aren’t available yet, but I imagine that they’ll sell out quickly. I do have a friend who might be able to get some tickets but, again, depends on availability.

In terms of senior project, things are going forward, albeit slowly. There have been some setbacks but I have to push forward. It’s part of life and I need to learn it as soon as I can. Some life transitions are coming and I’m aware of them, like identity and the power of independence. Change happens and will happen; I’m just doing my best to prepare for it.

What do you think?

