My 2015 Oscar Picks

The nominees are out and I’m ready to pick again. Last year’s accuracy rate was 58%; not bad for my first time. Again, I haven’t been out to see all of the films (you’d think a guy who saw over 430 films in one year would have time for the theater) so I’m going to just make my picks. I did catch up on the nominees and winners from last year and will probably do so again after the ceremony.

Best Picture: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance). It’d be cool if The Grand Budapest Hotel got it since it’s time Wes Anderson got a Best Picture win.

Best Actor: Michael Keaton (Birdman)

Best Actress: Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything)

Best Supporting Actor: Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Kiera Knightley (The Imitation Game)

Best Animated Film: Song of the Sea. I’m surprised The LEGO Movie got shortlisted for this category. I haven’t seen this one but if it’s anything like it’s predecessor, The Secret of Kells, then it’s a treat and deserves to win. My mainstream pick would be How to Train Your Dragon 2.

Best Cinematography: The Grand Budapest Hotel. I don’t think I have to say any more than that.

Best Costume Design: Into the Woods.

Best Directing: Boyhood.

Best Documentary (Feature): Finding Vivian Maier.

Best Documentary (Short Subject): The Reaper (La Parka)

Best Film Editing: Boyhood

Best Foreign Language Film: Ida

Best Makeup and Hairstyling: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Music (Original Score): Interstellar

Best Music (Original Song): “Everything is Awesome” (The LEGO Movie)

Best Production Design: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Short Film (Animated): Feast or The Dam Keeper

Best Short Film (Live Action): Aya

Best Sound Editing: The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Best Sound Mixing: American Sniper

Best Visual Effects: Interstellar

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay): Inherent Vice

Best Writing (Original Screenplay): Foxcatcher

I’m hoping to at least match my rate or improve this year. But enough about me, what about your picks?

One thought on “My 2015 Oscar Picks

What do you think?

