Movie Review: The LEGO Movie

If there was ever a movie that could be physically concentrated into a piece of candy and still be as tasty as the cinematic form, this is it. I don’t care if it’s a movie based on a toy line, this was a blast to watch.

An ordinary guy stumbles into a larger plot that could end with the destruction of their universe as they know it.

I had really high hopes when the teaser was released months ago. I imagined it would be animated like the LEGO video games, more fluid in movement. But when I saw how true to life the movement was, I lost any notion that the film could possibly fail. Even though it was just the teaser I couldn’t help but smile. It would become one of my anticipated movies of 2014.

The entire world is well-built. So much detail lies in the secondary parts like the billboards and instructions that it will require multiple viewings to see everything. Even the fact that their instruction books are based on the real-life LEGO ones as well as specific part numbers shows how much care was taken to make the world as real as it can be.

The animation is indeed spectacular. If you’ve even seen some good Brickfilms (movies made using LEGOs), then that’s what you’ll get on the big screen. What’s mind-blowing is that, for the most part, is all computer animation. I was reminded of the movements the Nicelanders from Wreck-it Ralph and how it captured the 8-bit movements. But here, the line between practical and CGI is blurred in the best way possible. I wasn’t sure if I was watching a well-animated CGI movie or a ridiculously crafted stop-motion film.

The humor is a large part of the film. The only way to describe it is by watching the video below.

That’s only one minute out of the 100 minute runtime. It’s just a joy to watch.

There is a planned sequel and the hook involves another toy line; I’m game. It’s not a giant toy commercial, even though it seems like it. It’s just a film that knows how to have fun with toys and it clearly shows. It’s only February but already the bar has been set high for my best of 2014. It doesn’t matter how old you are when you watch this, all that matters is that you are a child at heart.

9/10

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: The LEGO Movie

What do you think?