2013: My Year in Film and the Obligatory Best/Worst Stuff

It’s that time of year again; time to make (and break) resolutions, to reflect on what has happened, and to ring in the new year. 2013 was no exception. I’m surprised how much I’ve done in those 365 days alone.

I switched majors from computer animation to film, I started this blog way back in April (I think), and I was able to keep my resolution of seeing at least one film per day in 2013. I also became a member of the 1001 Movies Club and LAMB. If you look at The Mega Movie List Stat Sheet, you can get a glimpse of my progress that’s updated as often as possible.

Now out of the nearly 400 films viewed in 2013, there were cinematic successes and box office bombs. I don’t see many current films in the theater as much as nearly everyone else online or in real life. Yes, there were many times where I saw the same film multiple times and had it tally as one film towards the total. But hey, the only way to appreciate a film is in multiple viewings (with some exceptions). So, my best and worst lists cover everything I saw this year.

Best of 2013 (in no order): Mulholland Dr., Stand By Me, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, A Trip to the Moon (on ACTUAL film), Eyes Wide Shut, The Shining, M, Terminator 2: Judgement Day, Frozen, Gravity, Moon, Koyaanisqatsi, Mary & Max, Dog Star Man, Neco z Alenky, Lawrence of Arabia

Worst of 2013 (in no order): Salo, or the 120 Days of Sodom, Fur, Santa and the Ice Cream Bunny, Babe: Pig in the City, Cars 2, Sacred Planet, Out of Africa, The Jacket, Heaven and Earth Magic, Sharknado, Dune, Vinyl

Films Needing a Second Look (films I didn’t like but plan to revisit): Wavelength, Gone With The Wind, Lost Highway, Notorious, Braveheart, The Last of the Mohicans, Donnie Darko, The King’s Speech, Wild at Heart, Paths of Glory, The Best Years of Our Lives

So, next year will be the same: one film per day. I’m looking to at least hit 80% on both AFI Top 100 lists as well as the halfway mark for the nominations list. Also, I plan to watch all of LOTR and Harry Potter, something I haven’t done but seemingly everyone else has. More foreign films on the docket as well as movie syncs. 2014: here I come!

10 thoughts on “2013: My Year in Film and the Obligatory Best/Worst Stuff

  1. Agreed on many of the flicks in both lists. I especially love Frozen.

    I don’t particularly like Last of the Mohicans either.

    And congratulations on a successful first 8 blogging months!

  2. You’ve collected some amazing films in your Best Of 2013 list! As for the worst, I can’t believe I ever watched all of Salo. I didn’t know whether to laugh or vom during that one. Gone With The Wind is definitely worth the re-watch though, I didn’t like it when I first saw it either. Here’s to some great films in 2014!

  3. You didn’t like Gone With The Wind, but you plan to see it again… you’re a braver man than I could ever be. Lol at Sharknado, I clawed my eyes out at the trailer already. Love seeing Gravity, The Shining and A Trip to the Moon in the first list!

    Oh, and you have a typo there in the last paragraph: one film per year, that seems a bit unlikely 😀 Finally, so cool that you’re majoring in film and best of luck in 2014!!

What do you think?