2014: My Year in Film and the Obligatory Best/Worst Stuff

Once again, it’s time to look at my year in film. Cinematically, 2015 is poised to be a big year. You have Avengers: Age of Ultron, two Pixar movies, Jurassic WorldStar Wars: The Force Awakens just to name a few. Seriously, it’s going to be big. After all, we’re supposed to be cruising on our hoverboards and watching Jaws XIX.

Looking at the progress made between 2013 and 2014, I hit 365 in October of 2014, a whole month earlier. Granted, it helped that I started from day one instead of day eighteen or whatever. You can check my Stat Sheet to see how well I did. I don’t think I’ll top my 2014 total for a while.

I know I’ve mentioned it in previous posts but I’ll go ahead and talk about them. Meeting Jim Miller and Chris Buck, complete with pics and autographs, was really amazing.

Also, I did get through all of LOTR like I promised earlier this year. Never did get to Harry Potter. Maybe this year.

Best of 2014 (in no particular order):

  • Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Cloud Atlas
  • The Truman Show
  • Adaptation.
  • Brazil
  • Chicago
  • Shock Corridor
  • Spirited Away
  • The Night of the Hunter
  • Total Recall (original)
  • The Decalogue

Worst of 2014 (in no particular order):

  • Foodfight!
  • Into the Storm
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
  • The Nutcracker in 3D
  • The Man with Two Brains
  • Zardoz
  • Prizzi’s Honor
  • Equilibrium
  • Inkheart
  • There’s Something About Mary

Films that Need a Second Look:

  • Full Metal Jacket
  • A Fish Called Wanda
  • Die Hard
  • Naked Lunch
  • Satyricon
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Rosemary’s Baby
  • The Invention of Lying

What do you think?